My dad

I don’t have a good relationship with my dad. I can’t exactly tell you why, because I don’t know. I’ve never had a good relationship with him. I always was and I still am very close to my mom. Me and my mom do everything together.
There’s only a few things that my dad is interested in talking about; Deer, bears, hunting, banjo, elk, guitar. So today I talked about hunting. I’ve always wanted to go hunting. Especially deer hunting. But I’ve never gone because he never would take me. My older brother, Kyle, is into hunting so they both have a good relationship. I have told my dad many times that I wish he’d take hunting and even fishing! The only thing I’ve ever gone somewhere with my dad that was actually fun, was when my two brothers and I went fishing with my dad. I was 6 years old! That was 10 years ago!! And that is the only time we’ve ever gone fishing. It was an amazing day. And it is the only memory I have of me and my dad together.
So today I’m sitting on the couch and my dad puts in a Bow Madness* C.D. He starts talking to himself. But I just decide to think that he’s actually talking to me. (Even though I know he isn’t.) So I start to talk to him about bears, deers, and bows. And he starts to talk to me!! This is the first time in months since he’s talked to me like this. We actually have a conversation. I miss this.
I hear him say that he wishes he could go bear hunting. I think to myself, “I wish he would take me hunting in general….”
I’ve told myself that I’ve given up on asking him. Because every time I ask him if he’ll take me hunting or fishing he says, “yeah, uh huh, we’ll go. Yeah. Yeah. Uh huh. Yeah! Yeah! Mmm hmm.” Then it never happens. He doesn’t sound like he would even want to take me. So I don’t ask him anymore.
But he is my dad. And God made him my dad for a reason.
To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven. (Ecclesiastes 3:1)

About Mizzpiggikinz

I love reading, writing and typing. I hope my poems, stories and Bible readings, have an impact on your life. My God means more to me than the entire world, so I hope that you can feel the same way about Him too. I have some amazing stories that my God has given me to write. And I love Him and I love writing my poems, recipes and stories. As I read and write all about Jesus and read His Word. :) It's amazing! ♥

Posted on January 5, 2014, in My Stories- 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

